## The Statement of Solidarity by the Asian and Asian Descent Presidents and Deans of the Association of Theological Schools

June 18, 2020

We the Asian and Asian Descent Presidents and Deans, of the Association of Theological Schools deplore and denounce the atrocious subjugation of our African American brothers and sisters to the violence of systemic racism and white supremacy. We express our deepest grief over the tragic deaths of George Floyd, Aubrey Ahmad, Breonna Taylor, and lament the long history of Black lives lost to the unjust fatal force of law enforcement.

We stand in solidarity with the African American Community and demand justice and respect for all people, recognizing the sacredness of every life. In the spirit of solidarity, therefore, we support the statement released earlier by the African American Presidents and Deans, entitled "Black Presidents and Deans Say: No More Stolen Black Lives!" as well as the "Statement of Solidarity by Latin@ Presidents and Deans of ATS Schools".

We the Asian and Asian Descent Presidents and Deans, are hereby resolved to lead our respective institutions, and join with other leaders in our local communities, with a decisive commitment to understanding the pervasive history and presence of racial violence, engaging in justice-seeking dialogues, and mobilizing our communities to life-giving action. We say today and every day, with one voice, BLACK LIVES MATTER!

For the Asian and Asian Descent Presidents and Deans of the Association of Theological Schools:

Susan Abraham, Vice President of Academic Affairs and Dean of the Faculty, Pacific School of Religion

Ekron Chen, Academic Dean, Logos Evangelical Seminary

Derek Chinn, Dean, Multnomah Biblical Seminary & Graduate School, Multnomah University

Kyunam Choi, President, Grace Mission University Graduate School

David Han, Vice President for Academics & Dean of the Faculty, Pentecostal Theological Seminary

Jin Ki Hwang, Dean, Georgia Central University School of Divinity

Wonho Jung, Academic Dean, Washington University of Virginia

Uriah Kim, President (Interim) and Dean, Graduate Theological Union

Jeffrey Kuan, President, Claremont School of Theology

Boyung Lee, Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs and Dean of the Faculty, Iliff School of Theology

Rollin A. Ramsaran, Academic Dean of the Seminary, Emmanuel Christian Seminary at Milligan

J. Jayakiran Sebastian, Dean, United Lutheran Seminary

James Seung-Hyun Lee, President, International Theological Seminary

Wonsuk Ma, Dean, College of Theology & Ministry, Oral Roberts University

Seonmook Shin, Vice President and Academic Dean, World Mission University

Sharon Tan, Acting Dean, Eden Theological Seminary

Felix Theonugraha, President, Western Theological Seminary

Mai-Anh Le Tran, Vice President for Academic Affairs and Academic Dean, Garrett-Evangelical Theological Seminary